Home » NORTH AMERICA » USA » Austin » Hot Chocolate at Jo’s, Austin, USA

Hot Chocolate at Jo’s, Austin, USA

I like Austin. It has a cool, relaxed and colourful vibe to it that makes me happy whenever I visit. It is also full of unexpected surprises in the form of cafes, diners and restaurants. Jo’s was my hot chocolate find of the day. We were looking for a place to get a quick bite and a friend recommended it. I hadn’t planned on having a hot chocolate with lunch and since Jo’s looked like it was all about the food I had no expectations.

The hot chocolate was presented to me in a huge white mug, I call these hug mugs because when you hold them they almost feel like a nice big warm bear hug (if that makes any sense…it does to me). The hot chocolate is no frills, just my nice big warm mug filled up to the brim. I loved it. Funnily enough it took me back to France. It was hot, chocolately but not too much. It had a bit of a hazelnutty taste to it (I think it was Ghirardelli syrup). It wasn’t too sweet, the kind of hot chocolate I could wake up to every morning, something I say all the time when I’m in France but this is the first time I’ve found a hot chocolate like this in the US!

I ordered a Cuban sandwich, which came quickly and really hit the spot. The atmosphere at Jo’s is cool and relaxed. They also have a gorgeous terrace on a very busy and hip street surrounded by wine bars and restaurants.

Verdict: My new usual in Austin. Great hot chocolate (and cheap at $2.30!) but make sure they give it to you in their hug mugs and not a paper cup (like all coffee shops seem to want to do in this country). The mug is part of what makes this a nice hot chocolate. The food was great too.  Jo’s Hot Coffee and Good Food, 1300 South Congress Austin, Texas

Jo's on Urbanspoon

One thought on “Hot Chocolate at Jo’s, Austin, USA

  1. Pingback: 2012 in Hot Chocolates « Ultimate Hot Chocolate

Leave a Reply

